All important works should be commenced during a favorable Choghadiya as per belief.


Amrut, Shubh and Labh are favorable Choghadiyas.
Chal is an intermediate Choghadiya.
Udveg, Rog and Kal are unfavorable Choghadiyas.

There are seven types of Choghadiyas. Each day is divided into two time periods: daytime – the period from sunrise to sunset – and night-time – the period from sunset to sunrise. Each period contains eight Chaughadiyas. To calculate the duration of each Chaughadiyas, divide the respective time periods by eight. Thus, in each period any one of the seven different types of Chaughadiyas will occur twice.
The sequence of daytime and night-time Chaughadiyas varies for each day. However, for each day, the sequence is the same. That is, the sequence for Monday is different to that for Tuesday, which in turn is different to that for Wednesday, etc. But, the sequence for each Monday is the same, as it is for each Tuesday, etc.

Example –
Day 1:
Sunrise at 6:39 am
Sunset at 6:25 pm
Day 2:
Sunrise at 6:41 am

The daytime period is 11 hours and 46 minutes (706 minutes).
The night-time period is 12 hours and 16 minutes (736 minutes).
Therefore, each daytime Chaughadiya lasts 706/8 = 88.25 minutes = 1 hour 28 minutes 15 seconds.
And each night-time Chaughadiya last 736/8 = 92 minutes = 1 hour 32 minutes.
Thus, to determine a good time to commence important works, check the time period between which such work can be initiated and select a favorable Choghadiya within that specified time period.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s